Brief description of the asanetwork standard interface

The extensive integration of affordable PC technology into workshop equipment such as engine testers, wheel aligners, exhaust gas analysers, test lanes etc. is finally implementing the “old” idea of interconnecting workshop equipment, dealer management software (DMS), automobile manufacturers or independent automotive workshops.

asanetwork creates the technical prerequisites to make measurement and test equipment of different manufacturers compatible with commercial software applications (DMS) or to link them up with future e-commerce systems.

The interfaces, data format and data transfer protocols are standardised and based on the Internet. All network participants (equipment manufacturers, software providers, data suppliers, vehicle inspection organisations) must convert their software (data format) to the asanetwork standard format before they can transmit their data via the network manager to associated devices on the net.

The network manager Asanetman is the heart of the system. It oversees and coordinates all data streams in the network. In addition, data can be stored temporarily. This enables regular central backups and the possibility of saving data for users who are not yet ready to receive it.

Hence asanetwork has paved the way for the “paperless workshop”.

company history

1995 / 96

Manufacturers of computer-aided workshop equipment offer standalone networks. The systems are not all compatible with each other.

1997 / 98

Under the patronage of the Automobile Service Association ASA, efforts are undertaken to build an open network and a common standard for all market participants from the different activities of single manufacturers.

1998

Manufacturers of computerised workshop equipment and software manufacturers establish an open network standard with the goal of establishing this as a world-wide standard. asanetwork is further developed in an ongoing process in cooperation with the automobile industry, inspection organisations and equipment manufacturers. A cooperative agreement is signed with the American network i-SHOP to unify the different systems in the long term. More and more foreign manufacturers of workshop equipment and software solutions adopt the network standard.

Over the years, vehicle inspection organisations have gradually recognised the benefits offered by a standardised interface and have adopted it in many cases.

1998 until now

Manufacturers of computerised workshop equipment and software manufacturers establish an open network standard with the goal of establishing this as a world-wide standard. asanetwork is further developed in an ongoing process in cooperation with the automobile industry, inspection organisations and equipment manufacturers. A cooperative agreement is signed with the American network i-SHOP to unify the different systems in the long term. More and more foreign manufacturers of workshop equipment and software solutions adopt the network standard.

2011

In 2011 a new brake tester directive was published by the Federal Ministry of Transport, Building and Urban Development (BMVBS). The directive stipulates that all brake testers used by the inspection agencies during the periodic technical inspection in accordance with section 29 of the German Road Traffic Licensing Regulations (StVZO) must be equipped with the asanetwork Livestream interface as the standard data interface.

2012

In 2012 asanetwork developed the inspection software asanetwork Validator at the request of equipment manufacturers belonging to the ASA Association. It was found that the use of this inspection software considerably facilitates the performance of functional checks and single conformity inspections on brake testers in accordance with the new brake tester directive, and that the technology works perfectly.

2013

In 2013 asanetwork made a free diagnostic tool available on the Internet. The tool is designed to help both users and service personnel analyse the causes of any problems. Our vehicles have become “computers on wheels”, and the automotive repair market has to respond to this trend by providing the appropriate tools and equipment. asanetwork has helped to integrate the workshop into the world of IT and to convey necessary information to the workstation in the workshop.

Kurzbeschreibung Schnittstellen-Standard asanetwork

Der massive Einzug preiswerter PC-Technologie in die Werkstattgeräte wie Motortester, Achsmesscomputer, Abgasprüfsysteme, Prüfstraßen etc. realisiert endlich die „alte“ Idee der Vernetzung von Werkstatt-Technik mit betriebswirtschaftlicher Software (DMS), dem Automobilhersteller oder einem freien Werkstatt-Systemanbieter.
Mit asanetwork sind die notwendigen technischen Vorraussetzungen geschaffen, um Mess- und Prüfgeräte von verschiedenen Herstellern mit kaufmännischen Software-Systemen (DMS) kompatibel zu machen oder an künftige E-Commerce-Systeme anzubinden.

Schnittstellen, Datenformat und Datenübertragungsprotokolle sind standardisiert und haben sich am Internet orientiert. Jeder Teilnehmer am Netzwerk (Gerätehersteller, Softwareanbieter, Datenlieferant) muss sein eigenes Datenformat in das asanetwork-Normformat umwandeln, bevor er seine Daten über den Netzwerkmanager an andere Arbeitsplätze im Netzwerk verschickt.

Der Netzwerkmanager asanetman wiederum ist das Herzstück des Systems. Er überwacht und koordiniert alle Datenströme im Netz. Darüber hinaus können Daten zwischengespeichert werden. Dies ermöglicht eine regelmäßige zentrale Datensicherung sowie die Möglichkeit, Daten für nicht empfangsbereite Anwender zwischenzuspeichern.
Somit wurde mit asanetwork der Weg für die „papierlose Werkstatt“ geebnet.

Firmengeschichte

1995 / 96

Hersteller von computergestützten Werkstattgeräten bieten geschlossene Netzwerke an. Alle Systeme sind untereinander nicht kompatibel.

1997 / 98

Unter der Schirmherrschaft des ASA-Verbandes wird versucht, aus den unterschiedlichen Aktivitäten einzelner Hersteller ein für alle Marktteilnehmer offenes Netzwerk unter einem gemeinsamen Standard zu schaffen.

1998

Die Hersteller computergestützter Werkstattgeräten und Software etablieren einen offenen Netzwerkstandard mit dem Ziel, diesen zu einem weltweiten Standard zu etablieren. Das asanetwork wird in Zusammenarbeit mit der Automobilindustrie, Prüforganisatione und Geräteherstellern permanent weiterentwickelt. Mit dem amerikanischen Netzwerk i-SHOP wird vereinbart, die unterschiedlichen Systeme langfristig zusammenzuführen. Mehr und mehr ausländische Hersteller von Werkstattgeräten und Software übernehmen den Netzwerkstandard.

Im Laufe der Jahre haben auch die Prüforganisationen den Nutzen einer standardisierten Schnittstelle erkannt und vielfach übernommen.

1998 bis heute

Die Hersteller computergestützter Werkstattgeräten und Software etablieren einen offenen Netzwerkstandard mit dem Ziel, diesen zu einem weltweiten Standard zu etablieren. Das asanetwork wird in Zusammenarbeit mit der Automobilindustrie, Prüforganisatione und Geräteherstellern permanent weiterentwickelt. Mit dem amerikanischen Netzwerk i-SHOP wird vereinbart, die unterschiedlichen Systeme langfristig zusammenzuführen. Mehr und mehr ausländische Hersteller übernehmen den Netzwerkstandard.

2011

2011 wurde eine neue Bremsprüfstandsrichtlinie veröffentlicht, des Bundesministerium für Verkehr, Bau und Stadtentwicklung (BMVBS)veröffentlicht. Danach müssen alle Bremsprüfstände, die im Rahmen der HU nach §29 StVZO in den Untersuchungsstellen verwendet werden, über die asanetwork-livestream-Schnittstelle als standardisierte Datenschnittstelle verfügen.

2012

2012 entwickelt asanetwork im Auftrag der im ASA-Verband zusammengeschlossenen Gerätehersteller die Prüfsoftware asanetwork Validator. Bei der Überprüfung bzw. Stückprüfung von Bremsprüfständen nach der neuen Bremsprüfstandsrichtliene hat sich gezeigt, dass der Einsatz dieser Prüfsoftware die Stückprüfung wesentlich erleichtert und die Technik einwandfrei funktioniert.

2013

2013 stellt asanetwork eine kostenlose Prüfsoftware ins internet. Diese Software soll Anwendern wie Servicemitarbeiter bei evtl. Problemen helfen, Ursachen von Problemen zu analysieren. Unsere Fahrzeuge sind zu „Computern auf Rädern“ geworden. Diesem Trend muss auch der Reparaturmarkt mit seinen Werkzeugen und Geräten folgen. asanetwork hat dazu beigetragen, die Werkstatt mit der IT-Welt zu verschmelzen und notwendige Informationen an den Arbeitsplatz in der Werkstatt zu transportieren.